5 Summer Book-to-Screen Adaptations

Where the Crawdads SingComing to theaters in July 2022, the movie adaptation of Where the Crawdads Sing is directed by Olivia Newman and starring Daisy Edger-Jones. The novel, written by Delia Owens, is a coming of age thriller set in the fishing village of Barkley Cove. A young girl named, Kya, lives alone in the nearby marsh until one day a local boy is found dead. Locals suspect the “Marsh Girl ” is guilty, but soon she becomes dangerously entangled in the world she’s always lived apart from.

The Summer I Turned Pretty Young Adult writer Jenny Han’s novel comes to life as a new Amazon Prime series premiering in June 2022. Both the book and adapted television series is a perfect summer binge for romance fans. The first book of a trilogy, The Summer I turned Pretty is about the complicated love triangle between Isabel Conklin and her two long time family friends. If you enjoyed the Netflix adaptation of Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before trilogy this is sure to be a can’t miss!

The Time Traveler’s Wife Written by Audrey Niffenegger and previously adapted into a movie in 2009 starring Eric Bana and Rachel McAdams, the story follows Henry DeTamble and Clare Anne Abshire as they navigate the complexities of love amidst Henry’s rare genetic disorder that causes him to spontaneously and involuntarily time travel. The book, originally published in 2003 is now being adapted to a HBO series released in May 2022. The series stars Theo James and Rose Leslie as the leads and is sure to tug at the heart.

Pachinko Released as a series on Apple TV+ in March 2022, Pachinko was originally written by Min Jin Lee and published in 2017. The novel follows the lives and experiences of a Korean family who immigrated to Japan. The adaptation is directed by Kogonada and Justin Chon and stars Youn Yuh-jung, Lee Min-ho, Jin Ha, Anna Sawai, Minha Kim, Soji Arai, and Kaho Minami.

Heartstopper Directed by Euros Lyn and starring Kit Conner and Joe Locke, this Netflix series dropped season one in April 2022. Based on the novel by Alice Oseman with the same name, the story follows two young boys, Charlie and Nick, as they navigate the complexities of young love and the deepening of their friendship into something more.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s